Watching my kids sleep

Sometimes watching my kids sleep is so intense – I think I see them growing as they dream.

Fully relaxed
Floppy jelly arms
Soft flawless skin
Deeply relaxed breathing
No worries
I whisper in their ears sometimes
” you are so sweet and kind and beautiful”
Sometimes I cry because it’s happening too fast
Legs are longer
Pudgy cheeks are strong defined jaws and model-esque cheekbones
Strong lean arms
Wild curly hair

And when they wake up about six am, even on weekends-

Curious, cheerful, excitable voices
And twinkling mischievous eyes, jumping climbing grabbing crawling flipping over the grungy “kid friendly” furniture- that is covered in light layers of old mayo and Popsicle juice drips.

Love the moments, breathe in their life, exhale the fear of letting them go… For now.

One thought on “Watching my kids sleep

Leave a Reply

