The Girl and the Fox

girlfox

 

Today I launched us into a new reading and writing genre, FANTASY fiction using the latest RUOS from TC.  We watched the animated short film The Girl and The Fox. I loved it but in some ways was confused by it, as it wasn’t magical and it was closer to realistic fiction than fantasy in many ways. www.girlandthefox.com

We watched it twice for the pre-assessment – analyzing it for theme.  I have to admit, it was a challenge, even for this seasoned reader and teacher.

It made me think how much I already knew as a  5th grade reader about how fantasy works, without being officially taught about quests, setting, apprentices, power.

I searched online to find structure information on fiction  and found bits of Nigel Watts’ Writing A Novel and Getting Published.

The eight points which Watts lists are, in order:

  1. Stasis
  2. Trigger
  3. The quest
  4. Surprise
  5. Critical choice
  6. Climax
  7. Reversal
  8. Resolution

I wonder how much deeper, closer reading I missed when I was in 5th grade, heck, up through college without knowing or digesting this structure?  Wouldn’t the Narnia books and The Heart of Darkness have been so much more satisfying with this structure in mind? I wonder if it was necessary knowledge or if it makes our reading lives more complicated than they need to be?  I am eager, however to share my new findings with my students in the unit ahead, especially revisiting the structure within the movie.

Leave a Reply

