Changesonebowie

“Time may change me,
But I can’t trace time”- Bowie

I glanced down at my  six-year-old daughter’s long legs today.

Wow, when did that happen?

she is going to be so tall

taller than her mama.

I think back to when if rock her in the yellow checkered glider when she was a baby,

tucked in my arms.

even then I knew it was fleeting

I could feel her growing

listening to lullabies

with tears streaming down my cheeks

Gonna buy you a diamond ring

And if that diamond ring won’t shine,

Oh I didn’t want to wake her

I was already grieving the time

I couldn’t trace and retrieve.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

